• Image 1 of 30

Jewish Passover preparations

Amir Appel | Israel

Bnei-Brak 2021, kids in state of shock from the crowd around the fire

Chametz (also spelled "hametz" or "chometz") is any food product made from wheat, barley, rye, oats or spelt that has come into contact with water and been allowed to ferment and “rise.”

In practice, just about anything made from these grains—other than Passover matzah, which is carefully controlled to avoid leavening—is to be considered chametz. This includes flour, cake, cookies, pasta, breads, and items that have chametz as an ingredient, like malt.

According to Jewish law, it is forbidden to eat chametz after the fourth halachic hour3 on the morning before Passover. 

On the 14th of Nissan, before the sixth hour of the day, we burn any chametz that we still have. 

The following images shows the process of ultra orthodox jews burning the chametz

All pictures are taken at the city of Bnei-Brak, Israel between 2017 to 2022

https://www.instagram.com/amir.appel

Content loading...

Make Comment/View Comments